top of page

Zakat (obligatory charity)


From the Holy Qur’ān
Chapter 9: Al-Bara’at: The Immunity,
Section 8: The Hypocrites

Verse 60: (Zakat) charity is only for the poor and the needy, and those employed to administer it, and those whose hearts are made to incline (to truth), and (to free) the captives, and those in debt, and in the way of Allah and for the wayfarer—an ordinance from Allah. And Allah is Knowing, Wise.
[see footnote 1069]






(Reprinted with permission from Maulana Muhammad Ali’s
English translation of the Holy Qur’ān.
Footnotes and commentary below.)

Pay your zakat here

Footnote 1069

That by Sadaqat here is meant the obligatory charity, called zakat, and not voluntary alms, is shown by the concluding words of the verse, which call it an ordinance from Allah. The verse defines the objects for which the poor-rate may be spent. Altogether eight heads of expenditure are recognized. [Moorish Mosque allocates one-eighth (or 12.5%) of the total funds it receives to each expenditure head.]

  1. There are the poor, or those in straitened circumstances.

  2. Then there are the needy, by which are meant people who need some help to enable them to earn their living. Poor students and craftsmen or businessmen without sufficient means are included in this category.

  3. Thirdly, there are the collectors of zakat and other people employed to administer the funds. This shows that the institution was meant for raising a public fund, whose management should entirely be in the hands of a public body. The Qur’ān does not recognize it as a private charity. It is sad to note that as the Qur’ān would have it, the institution of zakat is entirely neglected by the Muslims.

  4. In the fourth class are people whose hearts are made to incline to Truth. With respect to the preaching of a religion there is always a class, which is ready to listen, but the carrying of the message of Truth to them needs funds. There are also people who may need help, if they accept the Truth. Expenses in this connection are recognized here as a part of the necessary expenditure of poor-rate.

  5. The fifth head relates to the freeing of the prisoners of war. Islam thus laid down a permanent basis for the abolition of slavery.

  6. The sixth class is that of debtors—people who incur debts for right purposes. Islam requires all the members of the society to live in a free atmosphere, and those burdened with debt must therefore be freed of their burdens. Squanderers of wealth are, however, not included in this category.

  7. The seventh head is in general words, fi sabil Allah, or in the way of Allah. Some limit the significance of these words to warriors (fighting in defense of faith and the community), or those who are engaged in propagating Islamic truths, while others think that the words are general and include every charitable purpose.

  8. The eighth head is that of wayfarers, people who are stranded in a country, to whatever religion or nation they may belong.

Zakat-al-Fitr 2024 (10 April 2024)

Zakat-al-Fitr, or the Zakat of Breaking the Fast of Ramadan, is the special obligatory alms paid

by all Muslims at the end of the Ramadan fasting month. Zakat is payable at 2.5% of the wealth one possesses above the nisab. Nisab, which is equal to 3 ounces (~87.48  grams) of gold, is the minimum amount of wealth one must have before they are liable to pay zakat. 


The nisab is estimated to be $7,051.14 (USD) Updated April 10, 2024, 08:35 NY Time your net worth is below this threshold, you are not obligated to pay zakat.

Ramadan 2024 begins at sundown on Sunday, March 10, and ends at sundown on Tuesday, April 9. The final evening of Ramadan consists of a celebration called Eid al-Fitr, when the traditional month-long fast is ended with a feast. Eid al-Fitr 2024 falls on April 10th, which marks the end of Ramadan (the day following the end of Ramadan). The festival will last for 3 days. Eid al-Fitr, also known as 'the Festival

of Breaking the Fast', marks the end of the sacred Ramadan fasting month. It is a joyous occasion for Muslims, during which they gather for feasts, offer prayers, and engage in acts of charity (zakat)

Muslims and Non-Muslims

Voluntary Alms


This is different from zakat in that it is voluntary
and can be made by Muslims and non-Muslims.



Donors receive all of the above benefits,
PLUS special mailings and Participate
in Population and Housing Surveys.



Donors receive all of the above benefits,
PLUS Participate in Zakat
eight heads of expenditure initiatives.



Donors receive publications,
briefings on critical issues, and the chance to participate in special surveys.



Donors receive all of the above benefits,
PLUS special mailings and Participate
in Population and Housing Surveys.



Donors receive all of the above benefits, PLUS participate in economic advancement, housing and youth workforce development initiatives and receive invitations to annual meetings
and Special Events.

Donors may deduct contributions to Moorish Mosque as provided in section 170 of the code. Bequests, legacies, devises, transfers, or gifts to Moorish Mosque or for their use are deductible for Federal estate and gift tax purposes if they meet the applicable provisions of sections 2055, 2106, and 2522 of the Code.

Donations are collected through the

Moorish Mosque,

federal tax-exempt organization under

section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

bottom of page